Introducing Moi University

Moi University is located in Eldoret, 310 kilometres northwest of Nairobi, the Capital City of Kenya. It was established as the second university in Kenya by an Act of Parliament, the Moi University Act of 1984. The first cohort of 83 students was admitted in 1984 through a transfer from the Department of Forestry, University of Nairobi. Since then, the University has experienced phenomenal growth from its initial one faculty in 1984, to a total of Thirteen (13) Schools, four (4) Directorates and Two (2) Institutes in 2012. The total student population currently stands at 31, 723, distributed as follows: Diploma 1029, Government Sponsored (GSSP):14,545, Privately Sponsored (PSSP):14,306, Postgraduate Students: - MPhil: 1,577 DPhil: 266 in programmes in various disciplines. The University currently operates Four (4) campuses, namely: Main Campus, Town Campus, Eldoret West Campus and Odera Akang’o Campus. The Town campus hosts the College of Health Sciences (Medical complex), School of Aerospace Sciences (Rivatex) and School of Law(Annex) while the Eldoret West Campus is home to our PSSP programmes. Moi University is proud have Two (2) constituent colleges, namely Garissa and Rongo that also offer unique undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, and a total of Five (5) Satellite Campuses in Nairobi, Kitale, Alupe, Kericho, and Coast (Mombasa). (View Moi University Campuses in a larger map)

Quality Policy Statement
Moi University is committed to providing quality education and services that meet the needs of its customers and stakeholders through quality and relevant teaching, research and community service and outreach. The University is committed to a quality work and learning environment that is grounded in intellectual and academic freedom, teamwork, quest for excellence, professionalism, discipline and continuous improvement of its products (programmes/activities) and services so as to achieve client/customer satisfaction. To be able to realise this commitment, the University will continually review its products (programmes/activities) and services to conform to the Quality Management Systems based on the ISO 9001 - 2008 Standards.

Students and Staff
The students are registered in 297 programmes consisting of 90 for undergraduate, 134 Master of Philosophy, 61 Doctor of Philosophy and 12 Postgraduate diploma programmes. The number of students is envisaged to increase to 42,000 by 2014/15, taking into account the current annual student growth rate of approximately 16% per year cumulatively in all categories of Government sponsored, Privately Sponsored and student population growth at the satellite campuses. The figure could still go higher with the inception of the Open and Distance learning programmes.
There are a total of over 3,662 staff all levels of whom 934 are academic staff

The University has modern teaching facilities that support academic programmes: Margaret Thatcher Library, the Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital, Water Resources Engineering Laboratory and a Textile Engineering Laboratory.

University Services

  1.     Teaching
  2.     Research
  3.     Consultancy
  4.     Extension and outreach
  5.     Community service
  6.     Administrative and support services

Structure and Governance
The University has various orngans of governance:-

  1.     Chancellor
  2.     The Council
  3.     The University Management Board
  4.     The Senate
  5.     Academic Boards of the campus/constituent colleges or schools
  6.     Departmental Boards

Financial History